Skip to content

2017 Vice-Chancellor's Awards

The outstanding achievements of  University of Tasmania staff were recognised recently at the 2017 Vice-Chancellor's Awards ceremony.

Recipients were recognised for their work in honouring the University’s mission to achieve research excellence, outstanding teaching, community engagement, enhancing the student experience and exceptional performance.

The ceremony was hosted by Acting Vice-Chancellor, Professor Mike Calford and Acting Chair of Academic Senate, Professor Dominic Geraghty.

Congratulations go to the following:

Distinguished Service Medal

Professor Stewart Frusher

Vice-Chancellor’s Medal for Sustained Commitment to Teaching Excellence

Professor Justin Walls

University of Tasmania Research Medal

Professor Graham Edgar

Award for Outstanding Research Performance by a New Researcher

Dr Noleine Fitzallen

Award for Outstanding Research Program

Multiple Sclerosis (MS) Research Group

Professor Bruce Taylor, Professor Andrew Palmer, Associate Professor Leigh Blizzard, Associate Professor Ingrid van der Mei, Dr Jac Charlesworth and Dr Kaylene Young

Award for Exceptional Researcher Development and Higher Degree Research Training Supervision

Professor Michael Breadmore

Awards for Learning and Teaching Programs

Career Mentor Program

Dr Julie Preston, Mr Alastair Lee, Mrs Kathy Hoare and Mrs Brigid Wilkinson

Unit for Medication Outcomes, Research and Education (UMORE) Medicines Australia ContinuingEducation Program (CEP)

Dr Corrina Dwan, Dr Tristan Ling, Dr Ivan Bindoff, Mr Peter Gee, Ms Breeanna Rayner, Professor Gregory Peterson, Associate Professor Luke Bereznicki, Mr Paul McClarron and Dr Nicole Bye

Award for Early Career Academic Teaching

Dr Alexander Bissember

Award for Outstanding Contribution to Enhancement of the Student Experience

University Students in Schools

Dr Jess Woodroffe and Mr Robert Alderson

Award for Outstanding Contributions by Adjunct and Clinical Title Holders

Dr Andrew Gooley

Awards for Outstanding Community Engagement

Ms Kristyn Whitmore

Clemente Program Team

Dr Terry Moore, Dr Sue Lovegrove, Dr David Vender, Dr Mitchell Rolls, Dr Carol Pybus, Ms Lorise Clark, Ms Miriam Doi

Award for Exceptional Performance by Professional Staff

Dr Sandrin Feig

Image caption: Acting Vice-Chancellor, Professor Mike Calford and Professor Justin Walls.

Image Karen Brown.

Published on: 10 Nov 2017 11:54am