Communications & Media

Scholarships support future ag leaders

Thirteen students from across Tasmania have been awarded scholarships totalling almost $200,000 to study agriculture at the University of Tasmania.

Director of the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture (TIA), Professor Holger Meinke, said highly-skilled agricultural graduates were in demand in Tasmania and around the world.

“At the University of Tasmania, agricultural education benefits from a close integration with the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture. This ensures that students have access to the latest research, opportunity for collaboration with industry, and the ability for hands-on learning at research farms around Tasmania,” Professor Meinke said. “Many of our graduates are offered jobs before they even graduate and find themselves in a range of careers including agronomy, agribusiness, food safety and rural finance.

“We are extremely grateful for the generous support of our scholarship donors, including individuals, industry and community organisations. These supporters of agricultural education are providing practical assistance to enable students to excel at their studies.”

Dylan Bellchambers, from Ulverstone, is studying a Bachelor of Applied Science (Agriculture and Business) at the University of Tasmania. He is the 2018 recipient of the Costa North-West Scholarship in Agricultural Science which provides a student with $10,000 per year for up to four years.

“My family is immensely proud because I’m the first to attend university. The main reason I’m able to undertake this study is because of the Costa scholarship,” Mr Bellchambers said.

“Growing up on my uncle’s farm sparked my interest in agriculture, and the University of Tasmania offers me the opportunity to follow my passion for agriculture and technology. I’m excited by the potential to analyse new types of data collected in the field to minimise waste and maximise yield.

“Farming is a business, you’re not just a farmer anymore, and I feel those skills will be really useful in the future.”

The agricultural scholarship recipients for 2018 are:

·        Emma Roberts, Agriculture and Food Systems Scholarship in Agricultural Science;

·        Dylan Bellchambers, Costa North-West Scholarship in Agricultural Science;

·        Amy Madsen, Domino's Give for Good Scholarship in Agriculture;

·        Febey Pearce, David McEwan Scholarship in Agricultural Science;

·        Lucy Cooper, Professor George Wade Scholarship in Agricultural Science;

·        Matilda Scott, Blundstone Scholarship in Agriculture;

·        Joshua Bailey, Robert Menary Tasmania University Scholarship in Agricultural Science;

·        Anna Mackintosh, Neale Edwards Scholarship in Agricultural Science;

·        Janelle Hite, Lewis & Sons Bursary in Agricultural Science;

·        Olivia Cripps, Tasmanian Beef Industry Trust Scholarship in Agricultural Science;

·        Georgia Griggs, Domino's Give for Good Scholarship in Agriculture;

·        Bree How, City of Devonport Lions Club Taste the Harvest Scholarship;

·        Sally Stone-Schack, Costa Honours Scholarship in Agricultural Science.

TIA is a joint venture of the University of Tasmania and the Tasmanian Government.

Published on: 03 May 2018 1:50pm