Communications & Media

Hobart to host national women's Uni 7s Rugby series

Hobart will play host to some of the world’s most elite rugby players this month as the national 2018 Aon Women’s Uni 7s Series kicks off.

Following on from last year’s inaugural season, the University of Tasmania Lions will return for the 2018 series.

Local players will join top international players Eilidh Sinclair (Scotland), Kiki Morgan (USA) and Sydnee Watanabe (USA) to make up the Lions team for the five-round competition.

The team will be joined by Australian women’s sevens representative Emma Sykes for the opening round in Hobart on August 25.

University of Tasmania students selected for this year’s team are Caitlin Ryan, Alice Robinson, Lauryn Cooper (captain), Michaelyne Arumbi, Georgia Stewart, Wynonah Conway, Verity Reid, Georgia Sayers and Isabella Hardy.

The success of last year’s series has led to the expansion of the 2018 season with 10 universities competing in five tournaments across Australia in August and October.

The 2018 tournament will begin in Hobart on Saturday, August 25 at the University’s Sandy Bay Campus oval.

“The team put in a really solid effort last year which provided an invaluable experience for local aspiring players to take to the field amongst some of the world’s best rugby players,” University of Tasmania Lions coach and former Wallaby Luke Burgess said.

“All of the players have been working really hard in our pre-season training and are extremely focussed and excited heading into this year’s series.”

Women’s 7s is one of the world’s fastest-growing team sports with the Aon series being launched last year after Australia’s women’s 7s success at the Rio Olympics in 2016.

Unlike traditional rugby, Rugby 7s involves seven players on each team playing seven minute halves.

The tournament provides a pathway for up-and-coming talent to train and play alongside some of the world’s best, in a bid to gain selection in the Australian 7s women’s squad.

“Two of last year’s team members who have returned this year, Michaelyne Arumbi and Kiki Morgan, furthered their playing careers with Michaelyne selected to trial for the Papua New Guinea team and Kiki selected in the USA development team,” Burgess said.

“With the growth of women’s rugby and the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games not too far away, the Aon series allows the next generation of up and coming rugby players a shot at representing Australia.”

The University of Tasmania Lions are sponsored by WOTSO Workspaces.

University of Tasmania Lions Squad

Molly Baxter (vice captain)

Caitlin Ryan

Vivvi Hokinen

Alice Robinson

Lauryn Cooper (captain)

Courtney Cook

Michaelyne Arumbi

Georgia Stewart

Samantha Harris

Meesa Albert

Wynonah Conway

Rebecca Hyland

Sonia Steckler

Eilidh Sinclair

Verity Reid

Ebony Altimira

Georgia Sayers

Catrina Tranent

Isabella Hardy

Sydnee Watanabe

Kiki Morgan

Aon Uni 7s Series Teams

Melbourne University

Sydney University

University of Queensland

Griffith University

Bond University

Macquarie University

University of Adelaide

University of New England

Canberra University

Aon Uni 7s Series Fixture

Round 1 (August 25-26) – University of Tasmania, Hobart

Round 2 (September 8-9) – University of Canberra, Canberra

Round 3 (September 22-23) – University of Queensland, Brisbane

Round 4 (October 6-7) – Bond University, Gold Coast

Round 5 (October 20-21) – University of Adelaide, Adelaide

Published on: 03 Aug 2018 3:02pm