Communications & Media

Finalists announced for 2017 Tasmanian Dairy Business of the Year

Four dairy farms between King Island and Waterhouse Point are in the running for the title of 2017 Tasmanian Dairy Business of the Year.

The award is the major category of the annual Tasmanian Dairy Awards, which is jointly presented by DairyTas and the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture (TIA).

The 2017 Dairy Business of the Year Award finalists are:

· Agrilac’s Oxberry Dairy at Waterhouse, managed by David Risbey-Pearn;

· Limberlost Dairy at Kayena, managed by Peter and Jo Jones;

· Gerard and Ria Mulder, Forest;

· Gary and Helen Strickland, King Island.

Finalists were selected from participants in the Tasmanian dairy business benchmarking program, based on financial performance in the 2015-16 season.

TIA Dairy Extension Team Leader Lesley Irvine said the award would go to the business with the best overall results as assessed by the judges during a farm visit.

"As part of our mission to support the future economic and environmental sustainability of Tasmania’s agriculture industries, we offer a free benchmarking service to dairy businesses which measures them against key performance indicators," Ms Irvine said.

"We work with dairy businesses to measure financial and physical information such as costs (per cow, per hectare and per kilogram of milk solids), milk and feed production, labour efficiency and pasture utilisation.

"The feedback we’ve received shows this is a great way of helping dairy businesses to make confident and effective farm management decisions that will benefit them into the future.”

Last year’s winners, Brian and Michele Lawrence of Janefield Dairy at Meander, pictured, attributed a focus on profitability, sustainability, teamwork and animal welfare to their successful result.

DairyTas Executive Officer Mark Smith said the Dairy Awards were a fantastic opportunity to recognise the hard work and dedication of Tasmanian dairy farmers.

“It is important that we celebrate dairy farming excellence in business performance, farm management, safety management and environmental integrity and for our young farmers for the benefit of the industry as a whole," Mr Smith said.

The winner of the Dairy Business of the Year will be announced at the Tasmanian Dairy Conference and Awards Dinner in Launceston at the Country Club Casino on March 29. More information about the conference and awards dinner is available at

The major sponsors of the Tasmanian Dairy Business Awards are ANZ, Roberts, Rex James Stockfeeds and Murray Goulburn. Other sponsors are Veolia, VDL Farms, Fonterra and Cadbury.

TIA is a joint venture between the Tasmanian Government and the University of Tasmania.

Published on: 15 Mar 2017 2:56pm